Users can be granted specific Library Permissions or Roles. The permissions associated with each user role will affect how you use globaledit.
A user's permissions are defined in their User Profile and their User Role is defined per Job Assignment.
For example, a user can be assigned a Normal Role which would allow users to modify ratings, in one Job Folder and a View Only role in another. So a single user can have access to various locations in the Library with varying roles. This can be controlled in the Admin / Assignments page.
The default roles are:
- NORMAL – view all assets and modify all ratings
- IMAGES ONLY – can view all assets but cannot modify ratings
- UNKILLED ONLY – can only view UNKILLED assets and cannot modify ratings
You also have the option to create a custom role catered to any user.
Unlike Roles - User, Management & Library Tools / Permissions are blanket across all assignments in the Library. These permissions include but are not limited to:
Editing Metadata, Editing ratings and Tags, Lightboxes, Downloads, Contact Sheets, Report Viewing, Uplinks Management, Gallery Management, Creating Jobs and Folders, Moving Jobs and Folders, and Deleting and Renaming Assets/Folders/Jobs.
If you encounter a limitation when using globaledit, please check in with your Account Admin to request a change in permissions.
METADATA – By selecting this, you are allowing the User to view image metadata
- ALLOW EDITS – Allows the User to edit image metadata
LIGHTBOX – Allows Users to create, view and share custom collections of images called Lightboxes
DOWNLOAD (Assets and Lightboxes) – Allows Users to download available assets
CONTACT SHEETS and PRINT PDF – Allows Users to create and print PDF contact sheets directly from a Lightbox
MARKUP EDITOR – Allows User to use the Markup Editor tool
VIEW REPORTS – Reports include Download History, Download History by User, and Ingested File History
MANAGE ASSET RIGHTS – Allows Users to set the Asset Rights date field on the Admin side, as well as receive all image requests via email with the ability to approve or deny requests. *NOTE: Checking this box will UNCHECK the “Asset Rights Restricted User” box at the bottom.
MANAGE GALLERIES – Allows Users to create, send and manage Approval Galleries
MANAGE UPLINK – Allows Users to create and send Uplinks
CREATE JOB – Allows Users to create new top-level job folders
ADD TO JOB (create folders/upload/append) – Allows Users to create new sub-folders, upload files, and append derivatives
MOVE FOLDERS/ASSETS – Allows Users to move folders and assets around within a Job or folder.
DELETE JOBS/FOLDERS/ASSETS – Allows Users to delete jobs, folders, and assets
RENAME JOBS/FOLDERS/ASSETS – Allows Users to rename jobs, folders, and assets
ADMIN FUNCTIONS – Clicking this box will automatically check all boxes allowing a User to create, update and delete Users and Accounts. You can uncheck to customize. This gives Users access to the Admin side.
ASSIGN JOBS – Allows Users to Assign jobs to other users so that they can view a job.
ASSET RIGHTS RESTRICTED USER – Mandates that the User request permission for each high-res download (regardless of expiration date). *NOTE: Checking this box UNCHECKS the “Manage Asset Rights” box at the top.
LOGIN AS A USER – Here you can also check the “Generate login link” box which when checked and saved, will send an email to you with a link to log in as the selected User in an instance where an Admin might need to get into a specific account.
UNLOCK USER – If a User tries to log in with an incorrect password too many times, the User will be locked out for security reasons. To UNLOCK a User, click ADMIN > USERS > type in the name of the person that needs to be Unlocked, check the UNLOCK USER box on the User/profile page, click Save.